Detective stories – Solution

Episode 1 – Solution

Fire Victim

Joseph Bremer, age unknown, businessman, owner of a company, father of two children, has a wife and a lover.

The main suspect

Carl Notebeck, 30 years old, freelance journalist who provides reports to various agencies and newspapers. He drove past the Bremer’s house when it was burning. He took a few pictures without calling the fire department, and drove away. Some time before he was involved in an ugly affair that has become known throughout Germany. He staged the escape of monkeys from a zoo in order to record a video and sell it to the media. For this reason he is considered as the prime suspect. Currently he is on the run.

The suspects (according to Carl):

Alma Preuß, 26 years old. Joseph’s lover. Joseph promised her to divorce his wife, but he did not. On the eve of the fire, the two had a heated argument.

Frida Bremer, 34 years old. Joseph’s wife. The day before the fire she learned that her husband was having an affair. Because of this they had a fight and she went to her mother’s taking their child with her.

Heinrich Katz, 45 years old. Joseph’s driver, who conscientiously worked for his boss for more than 20 years. He is an exemplary family man and a father of many children. Joseph dismissed him unexpectedly, without paying him compensation, threw him basically on the street for no apparent reason.

Lukasz Bremer, 26 years old. Joseph’s son from his first marriage. A troublemaker who was in constant conflict with his father because he could not forgive him for leaving the family. Recently, his father deprived him of his monthly allowance due to problems at his vocational college.

Brothers Fischer. Lenz, 42 years old, and Erz, 35 years old. Well-known bandits. Joseph lost a large sum of money in gambling, but did not pay the brothers back. The two brothers put a lot of pressure on him to pay them back.

Walter Sievers, 62 years old. Bremer’s neighbor. A belligerent old man. Has a long-standing conflict with Joseph regarding the garage, which the businessman had allegedly built “in the wrong place” so that the apple trees on his property did not get enough sunlight and therefore bore no more fruit.

 Time of the fire

In the photo, in the background behind Joseph Bremer, one can see the stove and the clock. The same clock, but already burned, can be seen on another photo from the police report.

The clock shows 11:50 p.m. According to the police records, the fire started at the kitchen stove, and the clock hung over the stove. It could be therefore concluded that the fire started on May 30, 2017 at 11:50 p.m. or a few minutes before. This time difference is negligible.

Investigation

Carl Notebeck (Journalist)

According to the navigation device, Carl’s car left the track to the preset destination and turned off onto the street where the fire was burning. After that, his car continued the journey to the original destination.

It is obvious that Carl should have been at some other place at 00:04. You could tell that Karl drove past the burning house, saw the smoke, turned off and took a couple of pictures. Then he continued his journey.

Result: Result: Carl could not have committed arson and is therefore innocent.

 

Lukas Bremer (son)

The map with the route shows the “AdlersKing” sign. The burned house of Joseph is located near the club (the address matches the one from the fire department report). Between the club and the house you can see a track that suggests that this route can be reached in about 6 minutes by car.

On the matchbox you find the address of the Facebook page of Lukasz, as well as the logo of the AdlersKing Club. If you’ve found Lukasz’s Facebook profile, you could see that he posted the pictures in the club, which were published on May 30, 2017 between 11:30 and 11:50 pm.

So one may come to a conclusion that Lukasz should have been in the club when the fire began.

However, this Facebook post with the photos is not a solid alibi. In fact, the photo could have been taken earlier and published on Facebook later. Facebook shows the timestamp of the publication. It could have been quite possible to deliberately publish the pictures taken earlier at the time of the arson.

In the Facebook photo you can see two more people, Mark Neumann and Micha Frank. On their personal Facebook pages you can find selfies, which were recorded at 11:40pm and 12:00am and in which Lukasz can be seen as well.

Result: At the time of the arson, several people in the club had taken selfies and Lukasz can be seen in these photos. A rock solid alibi.

Walter Sivers (neighbour)

The documents contain a page from the medical treatment card, in which an injection was prescribed. According to the treatment plan, it could be seen that Walter Sievers was given a strong tranquilizer on 30.05 at exactly 23:00. He must have fallen asleep after that.

Result: The neighbor also has an alibi for the time of the fire.

Brothers Fischer

The article in the newspaper describes the arrest of several football fans of the Adlerstein fan club after the riots on May 24. The article contains the initials of both brothers. All arrested fans were sentenced to 15 days of incarceration.
There are names of brothers Fisher in the list of the club membership fees, which indicates that they were indeed fans of the football club.

Result: At the time of the incident, the brothers were in prison and could not have committed arson.

Alma Preuß (beloved)

In the documents you will find the flight tickets for a trip to Mallorca issued for Joseph Bremer and Alma Preuss, which were purchased on May 23, 2017, as well as the reimbursement receipt for one of the tickets. Alma wanted to surprise Joseph and bought two tickets, but he refused to fly with her, which led to a heated argument. This is also evident from the SMS correspondence. Alma gave Joseph the ticket back and flew on vacation alone.
However, Alma had a motive – jealousy, which can be seen in her SMS threats. According to her plane ticket back to Germany, she must have been back in the city during the arson.
Although, according to a newspaper article, one can learn that on May 30th a concert given by the rock band “Lightning Gun” in Barcelona was canceled. The reason for this was the hurricane that led to the cancellation of all flights from Palma de Mallorca airport back to the mainland starting on the afternoon of May 29th until June 1st.

Just like the rock band, Alma was on the island at that moment: this is confirmed by the letter she sent to Joseph’s wife on May 29th in the morning from Mallorca.

Result: Alma could not leave the island because of the storm and the flight cancellation and therefore did not commit the arson.

Heinrich Katz (driver) and Frida Bremer (wife)

The video surveillance camera at the gas station shows a car and a man pouring the gas into a canister. The data from the police database indicate that the license plate belongs to the car whose driver is shown in the photo. The photo of the gas station shows Heinrich Katz.

From the diary of Bruna (daughter) it is clear that Frida drove on May 30th to a meeting. At the same time she wanted to pick up a book about Harry Potter. However, she did not return until the morning of May 31st.

In the photo of the hotel video surveillance you can see Heinrich Katz and a woman in exactly the same clothes as in the picture of Mitzi, furthermore, you will find the wrong signatures with fictitious names (the characters of the Harry Potter book, which Frida was supposed to pick up), which indirectly indicates that this woman could have been Frida Bremer.

 

Now it becomes obvious why Bremer had dismissed his driver H. Katz without giving him explanation and without severance pay.

Result: Heinrich and Frida have an alibi.

Joseph Bremer (Fire victim)

When decrypting the SMS messages you can decipher the Bremers’ wedding day, which was used as a password to his personal information. The insurance documents clearly indicate that Bremer was insured against fire and could claim the insurance benefits in such case.

His medical reports indicate that he was suffering from an iron deficiency anemia. He did not know that, as the analysis result did not arrive until after his death. An anemia patient can lose conscious in case of an insufficient oxygen concentration in the air.

 

All this indicates that Joseph, being sensitive to the oxygen concentration, fainted during the fire, remained unconscious and died.

All the characters of this story had different motives for this crime, but only Joseph had no alibi and apparently tried to set his own house on fire to claim the insurance money so he could pay his debts, but underestimated the severity of his illness, lost conscious and subsequently died in the fire.

So the fire victim is the arson criminal.

The case is closed.

Detective stories – Loesung

Episode 1 – Die Lösung

Brandopfer

Joseph Bremer, Alter unbekannt, Geschäftsmann, Besitzer einer Firma, Vater zweier Kinder, hat eine Frau und eine Liebhaberin.

Der Hauptverdächtige

Carl Notebeck, 30 Jahre alt, freiberuflicher Journalist, der verschiedenen Agenturen und Zeitungen Reportagen liefert. Er fuhr an Bremers Haus vorbei, als es brannte. Er nahm den Brand auf, ohne die Feuerwehr anzurufen, und fuhr weiter. Einmal war er in einen hässlichen Vorfall verwickelt, der in ganz Deutschland bekannt geworden ist – er inszenierte die Flucht von Affen aus dem Zoo, um diese aufzunehmen und an die Medien zu verkaufen. Aus diesem Grund gilt er als Hauptverdächtiger. Momentan auf der Flucht.

Die Verdächtigen (laut Carl):

Alma Preuß, 26 Jahre alt. Liebhaberin von Joseph. Joseph versprach ihr, sich von seiner Frau scheiden zu lassen, hat dies aber nicht getan. Am Vorabend des Brands hatten die beiden einen heftigen Streit.

Frida Bremer, 34 Jahre alt. Frau von Joseph. Am Tag zuvor erfuhr sie, dass ihr Mann eine Geliebte hat. Aus diesem Grund kam es zu einem Streit und sie fuhr mit dem Kind zu ihrer Mutter.

Heinrich Katz, 45 Jahre alt. Fahrer von Joseph, der mehr als 20 Jahre gewissenhaft für seinen Chef arbeitete. Ein beispielhafter Familienmensch, der Vater mehrerer Kinder. Joseph entließ ihn grundlos, ohne ihm eine Abfindung zu zahlen. Lukas Bremer, 26 Jahre alt. Sohn von Joseph aus seiner ersten Ehe. Der Querulant. Befindet sich in einem ständigen Konflikt mit seinem Vater, weil er ihm nicht verzeihen kann, dass er die Familie verließ. Neulich entzog ihm sein Vater den Lebensunterhalt aufgrund der Streitigkeiten im Berufskolleg.

Gebrüder Fischer. Lenz, 42 Jahre alt, und Ears, 35 Jahre alt. Bekannte Kriminelle. Joseph verlor in einem Glücksspiel eine große Summe Geld, zahlte sie aber nicht an die Brüder aus. Die beiden Brüder wandten verschiedene Druckmitttel an, meistens illegale.

Walter Sievers, 62 Jahre alt. Bremers Nachbar. Ein streitlustiger alter Mann. Hat einen langjährigen Konflikt mit Joseph bzgl. der Garage, die der Geschäftsmann angeblich „an der falschen Stelle“ errichtete, so dass die Apfelbäume auf seinem Grundstück nicht genug Sonnenlicht bekommen und seitdem keine Früchte mehr tragen.

Zeitpunkt des Brands

Auf dem Foto, im Hintergrund hinter Joseph Bremer, sieht man den Ofen und die Uhr. Die gleiche Uhr, aber schon verbrannt, sieht man auf einem anderen Foto aus dem Polizeibericht.

Die Uhr zeigt 23:50. Laut den polizeilichen Akten begann das Feuer am Küchenofen  und die besagte Uhr hing über dem Ofen. Man könnte daraus schließen, dass das Feuer am 30. Mai 2017 um 23:50 oder ein paar Minuten davor begann. Dieser Zeitunterschied ist aber vernachlässigbar.

Untersuchung

Carl Notebeck (Journalist)

Gemäß des Navigationsgeräts verließ das Auto von Karl die Strecke zu seinem Zielort und bog in die Straße ab, in der das Haus brannte . Danach hat sein Wagen die Fahrt zum Zielort fortgesetzt.

Es ist offensichtlich, dass Carl um 00:04 Uhr an einem anderen Ort gewesen sein sollte. Man könnte feststellen, dass Karl am brennenden Haus vorbeifuhr, den Rauch sah und abbog, um ein Paar Fotos zu machen. Dann setzte er seine Fahrt fort.

Ergebnis: Carl konnte keine Brandstiftung begangen haben und ist deshalb unschuldig.

 

Lukas Bremer (Sohn)

Auf der Karte mit der Route ist das „AdlersKing“-Zeichen zu sehen. In der Nähe des Clubs steht das abgebrannte Haus von Joseph (die Adresse stimmt mit der aus dem Feuerwehrbericht überein). Die Strecke zwischen dem Club und dem Haus ist mit dem Auto in ca. 6 Minuten zu schaffen.

Auf der Streichholzschachtel findet man die Adresse der Facebook-Seite von Lukas  sowie das Logo des AdlersKing-Clubs. Wenn man das Facebook-Profil von Lukas gefunden hat, könnte man Bilder von ihm im Club sehen, die am 30. Mai 2017 zwischen 23:30 und 23:50 Uhr veröffentlicht wurden.

Man kommt also zum Schluss, dass Lukas im Club gewesen sein sollte, als das Feuer entfachte.

Dieser Facebook-Eintrag mit den Fotos kann jedoch kein eindeutiges Alibi sein. In der Tat könnte das Foto früher gemacht und später bei Facebook veröffentlicht worden sein. Facebook zeigt den Zeitstempel der Beitragsveröffentlichung. Es wäre durchaus möglich, die Bilder zum Zeitpunkt der Brandstiftung zu publizieren.

Auf dem Facebook-Foto sieht man zwei weitere Personen, Mark Neumann und Micha Frank. Auf ihren persönlichen Seiten findet man Selfies, die um 23:40 und um 00:00 aufgenommen wurden und auf denen Lukas zu sehen ist.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ergebnis: Zur Zeit der Brandstiftung haben mehrere Leute im Club Selfies gemacht und Lukas ist auf diesen Fotos zu sehen. Glasklares Alibi.

Walter Sivers (Nachbar)

In den Dokumenten befindet sich eine Seite aus der Behandlungsakte einer Krankenschwester, in der die Uhrzeit der Injektionen protokolliert wurde. Nach dem Behandlungsschema könnte man feststellen, dass Walter Sievers am 30.05 um genau 23:00 ein starkes Beruhigungsmittel verabreicht wurde. Er schläft danach ein.

Ergebnis: Der Nachbar hat auch ein Alibi für die Zeit des Feuers.

Brüder Fischer

Der Artikel in der Zeitung beschreibt die Festnahme mehrerer Fußballfans des Adlersteiner Fanclubs nach den Unruhen am 24. Mai; im Artikel findet man die Initialen beider Brüder. Alle festgenommenen Fans wurden zu 15 Tagen Haft verurteilt.

In der Tabelle der Mitgliedsbeiträge des Clubs gibt es Namen der Fischers, das deutet darauf hin, dass sie tatsächlich Fans des Fußballclubs gewesen sind.

Ergebnis: Zum Zeitpunkt des Vorfalls waren die Brüder im Gefängnis und konnten keine Brandstiftung begangen haben.

Alma Preuß (Geliebte)

Zwischen den Dokumenten findet man eine Bestätigung des Kaufs zweier Flugticketsfür eine Reise nach Mallorca, ausgestellt auf die Namen Joseph Bremer und Alma Preuß, die am 23. Mai 2017 gekauft wurden, sowie die Rückgabebestätigung eines der Tickets. Alma wollte Joseph überraschen und kaufte zwei Tickets, aber er weigerte sich, mit ihr zusammen zu fliegen, was zu einem heftigen Streit geführt hat. Dies geht aus der SMS-Korrespondenz hervor. Alma gab Joseph das Ticket zurück und flog alleine in den Urlaub.

Alma hatte jedoch ein Motiv (Eifersucht), wie in den SMS-Drohungen zu sehen ist. Gemäß ihres Flugtickets nach Deutschland  war sie während der Brandstiftung in der Stadt.

Aus einem Zeitungsartikel erfährt man jedoch, dass am 30.05 das Konzert der Band „Lightning Gun“ in Barcelona abgesagt wurde. Grund dafür war der Hurrikan, der zur Annullierung aller Flüge vom Flughafen Palma de Mallorca vom 29.05. bis zum 01.06. geführt hat.

So wie die Band befand sich Alma auch in diesem Moment auf der Insel: dies bestätigt der Brief, den sie an  Josephs Frau am 27.05 von Mallorca verschickte.

Ergebnis: Alma konnte die Insel aufgrund des Sturms und der Flugstornierung nicht verlassen und somit die Brandstiftung auch nicht begangen haben.

Heinrich Katz (Fahrer) und Frida Bremer (Ehefrau)

Die Videoüberwachungskamera an der Tankstelle zeigt ein Auto und einen Mann, der Benzin in einen Kanister füllt. Die Daten aus der polizeilichen Datenbank deuten darauf hin, dass das Autokennzeichen zu dem Auto gehört, dessen Fahrer auf dem Foto Foto zu sehen ist. Das Foto von der Tankstelle zeigt also Heinrich Katz.

Aus dem Tagebuch von Bruna (Tochter) ist klar, dass Frida am 30. Mai zu einem Treffen fuhr. Gleichzeitig wollte sie ein Buch über Harry Potter abholen. Sie kehrte erst am Morgen des 31. Mai zurück.

Auf dem Foto von der Hotelvideoüberwachung sieht man Heinrich Katz und eine Frau in genau den gleichen Kleidern wie auf dem Bild von Mitzi, desweiteren findet man die falschen Unterschriften mit ausgedachten Namen (Figuren aus dem Harry Potter-Buch,das Frida angeblich abholen wollte), die indirekt darauf hinweisen, dass diese Frau Frida Bremer gewesen sein könnte.

 

Nun ist es selbsterklärend, warum Bremer seinen Fahrer ohne Begründung  und Abfindung entlassen hat.

Ergebnis: Heinrich und Frida haben ein Alibi.

Joseph Bremer (Brandopfer)

Beim Entschlüsseln der SMS-Nachrichten erfährt man den Hochzeitstag der Bremers, welcher als Passwort zu seinen persönlichen Daten benutzt wurde. Die Versicherungsunterlagen weisen eindeutig darauf hin, dass Bremer gegen Feuer versichert war und im Fall eines Brands die Versicherungsleistungen in Anspruch nehmen konnte.

Seine ärztlichen Befundberichte bringen näher, dass er an einer Eisenmangelanämie litt. Dies wusste er nicht, da diese Analyseergebnisse erst nach seinem Tod eingetroffen sind. Bei dieser Krankheit kann eine Person bei Sauerstoffmangel ohnmächtig werden und das Bewusstsein verlieren.

 

All dies deutet darauf hin, dass Joseph während des Feuerausbruchs in Ohnmacht fiel, weshalb er starb.

Alle Figuren dieser Geschichte haben unterschiedliche Motive für dieses Verbrechen, aber nur Joseph hatte kein Alibi. Er versuchte anscheinend, sein eigenes Haus in Brand zu setzen, um das Versicherungsgeld in Anspruch zu nehmen, damit er seine Schulden zahlen kann. Wegen der Krankheit verliert er allerdings das Bewusstsein und stirbt beim Brand.

So ist das Brandopfer selbst der Verbrecher.

Der Fall ist abgeschlossen.